Questions to ask Craigslist sellers

Hi, I'm new to the ThumperTalk forum.  So I got the ok from my wife to get a dirtbike and I'm in the market for a Suzuki WR250R...so I can sneak a little 'legal' road riding in :-)

That was the plan, but in searching Craigslist, I came across (2) different posts for a 2014 Honda CRF450R's for $1400. Upon further inspection, it appears to be the same bike in 2 different posts with different phone #'s. This is a helluva a great price (almost too good) considering other 450's range in price from $2,800 to $5k. Based on the pic, it looks to be in great condition cosmetically so I'm curious what I should be asking other than how many hours, maintenance routine, and if they have the title, etc? Get the VIN# get a report run? Obviously, if everything seems legit, I'd go and physically inspect. This is not a bike I was originally considering, but at this price, it's definitely on my radar right now but just want to make sure this doesn't sound too sketchy. All suggestions are welcome.

Edited by queencity_rida

No one sells that bike that cheap unless the engine is totally trashed. The person is a scammer. No doubt will tell you (only by text, they will not speak on the phone). that the bike is crated and at a shippers 'out of state' (-anyplace you are not) and they accept gift cards as payment and will ship it to you.

I'd wager 1/2 of the bikes and cars on CL do not exist and are scams. If they want to meet you and demand you bring cash, expect to get robbed. Tell them you'll met at a local police station. Get there early and tell the cops why you are in their parking lot.

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Bikes are usually over priced and the sellers usually lie about the condition. They all 'just had the engine rebuilt, just need a new spark plug to get running'. Most pictures are of the bike when they bought it before they trashed it and not recently taken.