Got this new bike from a friend and he said he thinks he put to big of a jet in it so it won't start, before he worked on the carb the bike ran great and really strong I rode it myself, I hope someone can tell me what I can do and just basic knowledge on four stroke carbs as I am new to it. Thanks 

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

There is no such thing as a 'basic' introduction to that carb.

Every part of the carb is interdependent on another, to some extent.

Put in stock jet sizes, replace the worn emulstion tube and slide plate seal, and that is enough for now.  You do not change jetting to compensate for other issues on the bike, the most common being worn out valves/seats.

The vent hoses need to be routed up and filtered (thats where all the dirt is coming from) and the fuel line needs an in line high-flow filter (like a golan)

There are mods to the accelerator pump you can find by searching.

http://www.pbase.com/jdjetting1/keihin_fcr_manual_views&page=all

http://www.dirtrider.com/features/protips/141_0707_keihin_fcr_carb_rebuild/

• Like 1

Thanks, I managed to get the bike running yesterday and it would idle but somewhat rough and wouldn't rev up good. I already ordered a kit for the carb. But what are the two like chokes on the carb one is red and the other black? 

1 hour ago, Gravett1 said:

Thanks, I managed to get the bike running yesterday and it would idle but somewhat rough and wouldn't rev up good. I already ordered a kit for the carb. But what are the two like chokes on the carb one is red and the other black? 

Choke and hot start. Read the links. 

By the way, the rebuild kit you ordered will not have the parts you need.....you need to order them from Yamaha. 

Ok thanks and I think the kit should have everything atleast it looks that way from the pic

IMG_1817.PNG

Also what is this for? I unscrewed it and it's a dip stick I just don't know what for. 

image.jpg

18 minutes ago, Gravett1 said: