Bought new DRZ400s 2005, first bike, beginner rider...

Greetings.

I am 22 y.o. guy who lives in Iceland. Haven't bought the bike yet but agreed on terms and paid the insuarence already. Soon it shall be mine!

I am no mechanicher and currently have no opinions about that kind of stuff, but I am a good learner.

The reason why I wanted to buy DRZ, because I could ride it anywhere I want and figure out if I am a offroad rider or road. Also, people said that it is easy to mod, reliable, so I can also learn how to take care of a motorcycle, how to mod it etc etc. I kind of think that I made a good choice by DRZ400s.

This topic has been around maybe billion times and you wrote trillion times, but I kindly ask you to do it once more...

I will have a chance to ride it 1-2 months, then there is the winter... And trust me, winder is really though in Iceland. So I will be busy with ordering stuff and modding my bike during that period.

Which mods are MUST have and easy to install for a beginner? What accecories are also must have? I need a high quality 4 season, %50/%50 tires until I figure out what kind of tires I actually want.

Every information is written on the internet and youtube tells a lot but still, it always feels more connected when you get direct advices.

Thank you so much.

• Like 1

Nice! You'll love it...I found myself I'm the same exact situation a few months ago. Same age, same bike, same train of thought in terms of buying a dual sport to find out what kind of riding I would mostly be doing. Turns out I ride more street than I do trails, but I went ahead and bought another set of rims and tires so I can have dedicated full off road and full on road tires. I still ride enough dirt to make it worth having 2 full sets of tires with different sprockets.

Sent from my Pixel using ThumperTalk mobile app

• Like 2

The 3X3, jetting and exhaust mod is a good one. Dunlop 606's are good off-road and give up very little on road.