'11 KX250f Newbie buyer gets burned!

I started riding again a couple of years ago to have fun with my kids. We have a track close by and my oldest is loving it. I bought a 2011 KX 250f. We went on a father son MX trip and after a full day of track riding the bike got harder and harder to start. Next morning it was dead. Couldn't even push start it. Took it down to the local shop and he got it going again by adjusting intake valve but said I'm going to need a new intake valve ASAP. This is not a job I can do. Couple questions to the group. How much should I expect to pay for new intake valves? Should I have more work done while Their in there? I paid $3k for the bike and after 3 days on the track if it needs $1500 in work do I fix it or trade it in? I won't sell to individual without disclosing the problem. Could really use some advise.

Thanks!

I was quoted around 950 to have the top end on my 15 done. this was valves, machine work, piston and rings. everything needed. This price was from a very well know race motor shop near me. do your research and bring it to a private shop

• Like 1

Why can't you do the job yourself?  Getting the head off is only nuts and bolts, ship the head to a good shop, and slap it back on the bike.  There are really only 2 things you need to be careful of and that is torque values and sequence and getting the timing lined up.  Both require only a bit of patience and you might end up with a good father/son session.

• Like 1

FYI. I recently replaced the left intake valve on one of our bikes here. Cost: 93$ for the valve, 28$ for head gasket, 1.5 hr of my time start to finish. (riding bike to riding bike).  There is quite a difference between fixing what needs to be fixed or doing complete overhauls. Imho, wrt valve maintenance there is an excessive amount of money being thrown around and tossed away regularly.

Edited by FaceDeAce
  • Like 2