04 WR450 COLD STARTING

Just wondering if all Wr's are as hard to start as mine when they're cold? This bike is brand new yet when I start it cold in the garage (40-50 degrees F.) I have to crank it about 10 seconds straight and do this 4 or 5 times before it'll hit. It will pop (like it's lean) a few times before it starts. Gas on , choke on should be enough but I've even tried twistin' the throttle a few times before starting (accelerator pump) but this makes no differance. This is my first 4 stroke and I'm still learning. But it sure sounds lean to me. Damn this things cold blooded!

well hoss you have gotten into one of your bikes "things i need to learn about my new bike" subjects. if you do a search your going to find a lot on this. we've all been through it. first off, change to a bigger starter jet. a lot of us have gone to a 72 for the winter. that may be a bit much when it gets to 70F but will work well when still in the 40's. yamaha's number is 3TJ-1494F-16. don't be afraid to twist the throttle four or five times before starting. one bit of warning, don't touch the throttle when your pushing the start button! the bike has a throttle position sensor. it'll try to adjust the spark advance and can make starting even harder.

The manual doesn't recommend cranking over 4 seconds, if I remember correctly. Try this - it's a good way to get some oil circulating before starting, too - Don't touch the throttle, crank 3 times for 4 seconds with the choke closed, then open the choke, crank in 3-4 second bursts until it fires. I like to keep my hand on the choke to give it minimum RPM while it is cold, so I play with the choke to keep it running, not revving. While it is not as cold here, I often start it when it's 48-55 and this works well. Yes, mine needs this amount to fire also.

Liking the bike so far?

Jim