Hi all, this is my first time posting but I'm currently in a mental dilemma. I just found out my next base is going to be in Louisiana and I plan in doing the Louisiana cross country series down there. Currently I have a beta xtrainer but I was already planning on upgrading to a 300rr but now that I'm going somewhere that has less technical terrain I'm stuck between the yz250x or possibly 300rr race edition or even husky 300xc. I feel like I will be just fine with the yz but I don't have a lot of experience on a 250 and I'm not sure I wanna lose the low end tractorability of a 300. I love the price of the yz and I think I'm leaning towards that since I could always put in the Athena 300 kit but I just wanna make sure I won't be making any huge sacrifices by going with the 5 speed gearbox over a 6 and losing electric start and hydraulic clutch,and I don't think the yz has an adjustable power valve. Just wandering if anyone will give me some good solid input or recommendations.

I have watched all his vids. I really liked when he directly compared the yz to the ktm 300xc but it's just such a hard decision. I'm still thinking the yz is prob the better deal. 9k for new xc and 7400 for yz. With that difference I could put the 300 kit in it. Just wanna see how people feel about the suspension, gearbox, and starter differences.

I go over this constantly also, its like a friggin' hamster in my head.  If I can make a suggestion:  there are used 250x's popping up on Craigslist more and more.  There's one in the Philly area that sold for a little less than $5000.  If the yami doesn't work out, it'll sell in a flash.

Also, I'm not sure how technical/gnarly your terrain will be.  The uglier it is the more the 300 KTM/Husky/Beta will shine.

Another thing: all the guys I ride with (five "A" riders) all switched to Yami, mainly because of the unbeatable suspension. If the Yami came with the magic button the decision would be simple.

Hope this helps,

• Like 1