Did your 250f explode?

It has been firmly established that thrashed out old 250 four strokes can be a bad investment for a new rider. It is clear that some people have had bad experiences with their new-to-them 250f. Damaged engines requiering costly repairs. Some place, I read that it could cost thousands of dollars to repair the damage. In another place some one said it was $150 to replace the top end on a 2stroke but it was a whopping $400 to do it on a 4sroke. 

For a host of reasons I really think that a 250f is the best new, used bike for me. I try to convince myself that I really want a 2stroke, but going slow and being tractable are more important to me that going fast and will be so for a few years as i follow my 8 year old around on his little bikes. Having said that, I am not a total NooB and want something that I can "grow into" over time. Besides, I am too fat for 230s and the like. 

So, being the internet, it's easy to find people who ahve had PROBLEMS with something, in this case small-bore 4strokes. What I want to know is what is the ratio. How many of you out there have gotten a serviceable bike for cheep money and it didn't cost as much to fix it as it did to buy it?

• Like 1

53 minutes ago, GreenDRZ said:

It has been firmly established that thrashed out old 250 four strokes can be a bad investment for a new rider. It is clear that some people have had bad experiences with their new-to-them 250f. Damaged engines requiering costly repairs. Some place, I read that it could cost thousands of dollars to repair the damage. In another place some one said it was $150 to replace the top end on a 2stroke but it was a whopping $400 to do it on a 4sroke.