Another YZ250FX switch to a 250RR.

I'd always ridden Yamaha WR's (just for fun), and in 2015 I decided to pick up a Yamaha YZ250FX. That bike was so much fun to ride, and it loved going fast, so I figured I might as well enter a race. Long story short, I did better than I thought I would and was hooked. My background is primarily road racing, so now I'm 'trying' to race both series (every race) this year.

Over the last few years the riding I do has become much more technical. The bigger, the rockier, and the steeper, the better it is. The FX has always done well there, and to be fair, I never really noticed many short comings (besides maybe needing a 'tiny' bit more jam right off the bottom). But one thing that drives me crazy in 2-3 hour long races, is the engine braking. If it's tight technical back and forth trails the 4 stroke is always slowing down the second you're not on the throttle (if the clutch isn't pulled). That's not something that ever bothered me riding leisurely. But in a race it drove me nuts. I'd try and maintain throttle more in those situations, but with the FX on/off throttle transition, it would load and unload the front unless you're steady on the clutch. So aside from slowing down (which sucks in a race), it's also wasting extra energy (I'm getting older and fatter, so it's harder to stay in shape).