KLX400 first start in 3 years-Carb Rebuild?

I just bought a KLX400S that hasn't been started in 3 years. It had 3-4 year old gas in it when I picked it up. I have the tank off cleaning old gas out now and was wondering if I need to do a full carb rebuild or maybe just flush it out? It is the stock 36mm S carb, not the FCR. Also instead of rebuilding this carb, if someone has a stock S carb that is ready to go shoot me an PM I'll buy it. 

Thanks Nick

Install the JD jetting kit and do the 3x3 mod.

Let me preface this by saying I'm fairly new to the motorcycle world but have been working on other motors since a kid. I just finished a carb rebuild on an 89 Yamaha xt600. The bike was also sitting for a few years with about a half tank of bad gas. Apparently the petcock had a tiny leak, allowing gas to have plenty of time to make its way into the carburetor and get everything nice and gunky. Given the fact the bike has been sitting for an extended period of time I think it would be wise to run through the carb, If you have the time to do so. I think at some point you would end up have to rebuild it anyways so mine as well get it done now while your tank is off.

Sent from my LGMS428 using ThumperTalk mobile app

7 hours ago, 38super said:

Install the JD jetting kit and do the 3x3 mod.

After getting everything pulled apart last night I found the 3x3 mod and jet kit had already been done. It does have an aftermarket pipe as well. 

The previous owner told me that when he last tried to start it gas was coming out of the overflow line or diaphragm up top, which to me would mean the float is sticking. 

My local Suzuki dealer opens up at 10am, I am going to see if they have a carb rebuild kit or maybe I can just purchase some of the gaskets and o-rings separately to try and fire it up today. 

Some times gas goo will cause a sticky float pivot or gum up the float valve seat.  Easy fix, no parts needed (if you're lucky).