Can't Solve Carb Flooding

2003 XR250R with air box mod and baffle removed.  135 main and 48 pilot at sea level.  I'm a self taught and very novice mechanic...

After a hard crash, I had problems hot starting and began to investigate possible carb flooding.  I have never adjusted the float level and began to limp my way through setting the level by watching videos, reading service manual, etc.  After a total clean of the carb to include new float and float valve, I am still leaking fuel from the overflow tube when turning the fuel on.  I am setting the level with the carb on it's right side, float valve seated and tang barely touching the top of the valve.

I am wondering if I am reading the float tool correctly as silly as it sounds.  It's the Pit Posse pictured below, the same one shown in the XR service manual which calls for the height to be 12.5 mm. The photo in the manual shows this setting as well but i'm at my wits end as to why it continues to flood once I turn the fuel on.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

20170807_101959.jpg

Omg i had the exact fault drove me mad ,full carb kit adjusted to 12.5mm overflowing no joy was the float side to side play on the pin had to tweek it so held tightly . Also i set it to 13mm directly inline

with the main jet and the drop 5 mm more so total drop of 18mm

hope this helps 

6 hours ago, Romney1 said:

Omg i had the exact fault drove me mad ,full carb kit adjusted to 12.5mm overflowing no joy was the float side to side play on the pin had to tweek it so held tightly . Also i set it to 13mm directly inline

with the main jet and the drop 5 mm more so total drop of 18mm

hope this helps 

Can you explain why the discrepancy between what the service manual says and what you found worked for you?  Is this standard for the XR?  

Thank you

• Like 1

is the needle and seat doing its job shutting the fuel off ?

• Like 2

7 minutes ago, S.O.A.N.Z said:

is the needle and seat doing its job shutting the fuel off ?