Rear shock for 1982 XR200R needed

The rear shock on my 1982 XR200R doesn't seem to actually do anything.  I can't really go up hills much because the rear wheel just starts bouncing around and losing grip.  Anyway, after reading a TON of stuff on various forums I haven't been able to find all that much about this bike.

I talked to Bruce's Suspension.  He said that he may be able to fix it, depending on the condition, parts availability, etc.  Haven't been able to get anyone at Works Performance to reply to me.

Is sending it to Bruce/Works and hoping they can fix it the best bet?

Are there any other suspensions that I could fit to this bike?

I'm a noob to all this, so assume my knowledge level on the technical aspects of the suspension is 0 and you won't be far off :p

Probably is worthwhile getting it rebuilt - 84-85 xr250r shocks will bolt straight on - but then you have to find one - which will probably need rebuilding anyway

Thanks for the info.  I guess I'll ship the factory shock off to Bruce and see what he can do with it.  If it's too far gone, at least I know some more options I can try.

On 8/9/2017 at 11:21 AM, OldGreyBeast said:

Thanks for the info.  I guess I'll ship the factory shock off to Bruce and see what he can do with it.  If it's too far gone, at least I know some more options I can try.