Seeking basic advice

I have a Kawasaki KLX 140 - I am new to the trail scene, but I've been riding street bikes for many years. I am not so much mechanically inclined, but I'm willing to learn and get my hands dirty. What are the basic things that I need to be able to do so that I can maintain the bike in a way that will make it last and not crap out on me miles from the car? For background: I ride about once weekly for about 2-3 hours on fairly wide trails at my local state park (prentice cooper near Chattanooga, tn). Conditions range from dusty to mildly muddy. I'm 5'7" and 140#, and I work hard to ride well within my limits - although I do like going fast :). Despite my restraint, I have become quite adept at throwing the bike at the ground, sometimes braking a few ribs. BUT I LOVE IT. Basic advice is what I'm looking for...

Buy a service manual and read it several dozen times. Follow it.

Keep the bike clean and go over it regularly. If something is broken, fix it properly. If something is worn out, replace it with a quality part.

Keep the spokes tight, the air filter clean and change the oil.

• Like 1

And chain adjusted properly and proper tire pressure.  The tire pressure is something you may have to play around with for what suits you, the conditions and the tires.

14 minutes ago, William1 said:

Buy a service manual and read it several dozen times. Follow it.

Keep the bike clean and go over it regularly. If something is broken, fix it properly. If something is worn out, replace it with a quality part.

Keep the spokes tight, the air filter clean and change the oil.

At the risk of sounding like a complete dolt, are saying a manual other than the one that came with the bike? 

1 minute ago, dvm moe said:

At the risk of sounding like a complete dolt, are saying a manual other than the one that came with the bike? 

That was probably an owners manual.  Service manual is a big book.

• Like 1

google "KLX 140 service manual" and several are for sale
also