Just bought yz250

Hello everybody. Like the title says i just bought an 01 today. I'm a complete noob. It takes me about 10-15 kicks to get it going and it doesn't idle. It seems to run fine though. I feel like the old owner didn't take too much care of it. What do i need to do to get it running on the first couple kicks? 

As for routine maintenance what should i do to go through the bike and what small parts should i replace that probably need to be replace after buying from an owner who didn't do to much? 

I want to start learning the ins and outs instead of taking it to a shop but maybe i should take it to the shop so they can look at it for the first time?

Thanks for your help.