Keep 250f or trade for 125

Hello All,

another "should I" question. I am a new dirt bike rider.  I started off riding my buddy's 450 4 stroke. We ride mostly tracks and non technical trails. I'm 49 so everything at this point is a "business decision"... so far no real jumping and I don't see much in the near future. I would like to, but need to get to that commitment point. even then I don't see myself clearing doubles and such. As I said I was riding a 450 but when I decided to purchase a bike I purchased a 05 250F. I've spent the last few months getting it fixed and ready to ride. Waiting on a few parts I have yet to ride it but it still seems so heavy and frankly intimidating. I'm contemplating trying to trade it for a 125 2 stroke. Here's the issue I'm 6'3, 210 (no gear) at the moment, but dropping pretty fast. Would it be wise for me to go to a 125 just because I'm a beginner or should I stick with the 250 and try to get use to it? Or maybe try to find a 250 2 stroke?? 

TIA

I got back into the sport a few years ago at 43 years old

(not much previous MX experience to begin with, mostly rode a 3-wheeled ATV in my teens)

Being a fan of 2-strokes and, because of a good deal on a 2 year old new/leftover bike, I got a brand new 2010 YZ125 the summer of 2012.

The learning curve wasn't too bad thanks to many YouTube 'how-to' videos (I ride recreational MX on vet tracks, all tabletops, no doubles)

my skills mostly progressed after the 2nd season, I had finally started to get the suspension dialed in which helped my confidence.

Fast forward to 2017, I'm now 48 years old, 165lbs, non-smoker/drinker, don't train but in decent shape.

My skills have now improved to the point of clearing bigger tabletops and small doubles,

I can even out-brake and out-corner quite a few younger riders but now realize :

age does eventually catch up with you !

All this to say, 125's are 'all or nothing', they require you to commit ALL the time,