2001 Honda XR200r Rebuild

I bought a 2001 xr200r bike as a project and am in the process of rebuilding it. I have never rebuilt a bike before, only automotive engines and was intrigued by the versatility and challenge of doing something I've never done before, plus who doesn't want a dirt bike?

I have been told that I can bore out the cylinder in order to accommodate an xr250r piston. I have done research on the differences between the two motors through schematics and specifications, but I still have some questions and concerns.

1. Is an xr250r top end compatible with an xr200r bottom end?

2. Is rejetting the xr200r carb enough or should I upgrade to a xr250r carb and fuel tank?

3. Can it remain a two valve system or would I rebuild the whole top end with a xr250r 4 valve?

4. Dry sump vs. wet sump?

5. Is it worth the power difference?

6. Higher performance bearings in the bottom end to handle the power difference?

7. Available kits or call a machine shop?

Like I said, this is the first time I have ever done this so inexperienced is a kind way of saying I'm pretty in the dark here, but looking to learn and build a beautiful machine for next season. Any input is greatly appreciated! Thanks! 

CatXR,

You can not put an XR250R piston in your 2001 XR200 w/o throwing ubber amounts of $$$ at your build. 

You should do some research on the 218 stroker modification, Chuck & Chadzu have threads you can follow. 

The 2001 has the shorter suspension, so IMHO you should entertain getting the suspension sorted 1st. If 

you put all that money in the motor w/o the suspension, it's kind of a waste. 

It's time to create a wish list and see what is within your budget and kind of go from there. If power is

what you wanted, the XR200R was a bad choice, you would have been better off with a 250F, X, etc..

If you were looking for a fun light play bike, you just got one.

Michael 

• Like 2