2014 rmz450 broken shift drum!!

Hello. Newbie here to the community. My buddy bought a 2014 suzuki rmz450 a few weeks ago and we took to the trails this past weekend. Well it ended a few hours after we started with him having no 3rd gear and eventually it would slide the rear tire when third gear was selected. I tore it down and found the shift drum broken and the shift fork beat up pretty good.  Also most dogs have pretty good wear on them. Anyone know if this is a common problem or if there are updated parts to prevent future failures? I did some searching and found info about the hammerhead +10 shifter and detent springs, but nothing like this. Thanks in advance. I'll attach pictures. 

IMG_0730.JPG

IMG_0731.JPG

IMG_0732.JPG

IMG_0734.JPG

IMG_0736.JPG

IMG_0737.JPG

IMG_0739.JPG

IMG_0740.JPG

That's a possibility I suppose. It wasn't wrecked since my buddy bought it and shifted fine up to the point where it broke. We put almost 30 miles on it that day. 

I can tell you it is not a common problem. In fact this is the first I have ever seen of damage like that. Check out the cases for abnormal wear and rebuild it. Should be good to go. I would attribute that damage to nothing more than HORRIBLE luck. I've seen plenty of good used tranny's on ebay. 

Edited by BDubb106

My buddy is scared to death to put used parts in it since there's so much chatter about false neutrals and detent springs that trash your transmission on the internet. But this shift cam/drum is on national backorder. None to be had except used ones. 

On 8/18/2017 at 3:29 PM, Mackmechanic said:

My buddy is scared to death to put used parts in it since there's so much chatter about false neutrals and detent springs that trash your transmission on the internet. But this shift cam/drum is on national backorder. None to be had except used ones. 

Rmatv shows one in stock

Screenshot_20170820-161215.png

Edited by DEMI
  • Like 1