CR250r2003 run too rich

Hi guys,

I know this question as been asked thousands times, but I need some help here.

I'm new to 2stroke world!

I just bought 2 months ago a cr250r 2003 and put it appart to clean everything, adding new tires, tubes, replate cylinder, new piston rings and gaskets, etc...

the bike start first kick.

I only rode it 2 times, (trail) the top end as around 2-3h on it.

I found the throttle at mid range boggy and won't clear out (seams too rich), I have some oil spooge at the end of my muffler too after a ride and near the exhaust manifold and joint in the middle, where there is the rubber. (it is normal??)

I repacked the muffler too with new fmf wool.

So I did a couple research here, read lots of thread, and decide to try myself to open my carburator and see what's inside (setting of the previous owner).

I have the manual so I looked at what is the stock setting recommanded. (found the carburator was setting stock, except for the air screw turns)

heres my current setting:

-32:1 fuel mix with Motul 800

-air screw 2x turns from fully close

-Slow Jet: 30

-Main Jet: 420

-Jet Needle: 6BHy38-73

-Needle clip position: 2nd from top

-Float height about 15.5mm (honda recommand 15mm) from the flat surface to the highest point of the float (carb maintain at around 45 degree to avoid any pressure)

So I know it's too rich because the engine won't clear out,

I do only trail riding, not always on the pipe, but in straight section, I tried opened it and still wont clear.

I read here to run the 410 main jet instead of the 420, so I ordered this morning the 410 from my local dealer, to begin with it.

The reed valve seams ok, when having in my hand and looking trough it, no light pass trough.

Well, before brining the bike to the dealer, I ask your help and advices here, will have the 410 Main Jet next week, but i'm not sure it's the right place to start, that's why I ask! maybe I missed something!

thanks for your time!!

cr.jpg

• Like 1