Whiskey Throttle

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the page/forum so I'm sorry if I am asking a repetitive question I did try and look to see if its been asked to no luck. I got into dirt bikes a couple years ago (keeping in mind i was riding very infrequently) and now that I've come into more time I've gotten way more into and because I make a good income I decided I deserved a new bike. So I went from a 1997 xr250r to a 2017 250XC-F. Let me tell you what an eye opener the last couple weeks have been for me. Even with Traction Control engaged on my bike the Hit is so hard I can't ride anything but easy trails and I'm struggling to get back to good positioning where I'm not death gripping the throttle every 5min and careening to my doom. I have had so much different advice I'm at the point I'm kind of getting lost in it all and want to go back to basics but I'm honestly not even sure where that is anymore. 

Any input is appreciated.

Thank you

• Like 4

I hear your pain Shantelly.  I'm a relative beginner as well (3rd year). My bike is a 2013 250xcw.  It was more than a handful for a guy who'd never ridden a motorbike before.  I took a serious beating when I started, all from whiskey throttle.  Torn meniscus in my knee, detached bicep and demolished pride.  I tried to ride as much as possible hoping seat time would take care of the problem. It didn't. Squeeze the bike with your knees? No luck either. I got fed up and went to the track,  not to ride but to watch.