Xr400 Help and Advice.

Hi everyone! I had a crf230 that I learned on for months it was built up by the previous owner and it was an amazing and powerful bike for a 230.

I had someone offer a clean xr400. It's a 1996 I bought and well months later here I am. I absolutely love this bike. I've ridden a drz now a 400 and I honestly love the xr more.

Anyways I'm doing a build on it because after months of searching I found one of the previous owners and got the title and that had a extensive record. So I decided to do a rebuild on it after the top end has been making noises galore. Im pretty sure it was just a failed timing chain tensioner but I figured I'd tear down the motor and learn how it all works.

It's my first time and I'm 17 years old by the way. I don't know what the bikes been through and I want this bike to last me a long time. My goals are to have a good round town dual sport. I'm getting a second bike for longer journeys and highway travels.

I'm stuck currently on the camshaft. I have to loose then Allen bolts on the camshaft gear and they won't break loose. I have the tighest fitting Allen wrench I got but it just keeps wanting to round off now before it does round off what are my options? I have the correct size Allen wrench. And I'm getting a new camshaft with gear and everything but wouldn't like to make a mess. Just need tips ! 

My plans for the future are: 

*Weisco 426 kit with new cylinder, piston, rings, and gaskets just under 11 compression ratio

*Stage 2 hotcams camshaft

*Kibble white valve spring sets

*Xrsonly slip on exhaust and modified pumper carb

*Valve seals

*Crf450 timing chain

*New timing chain tensioner

*Maybe new valves but I doubt it. It always started first kick before the tear down

*Clean up and polish the head

*Tusk lighting Enduro kit

*Upgraded headlight(what do you recommend?) 

*New white plastics 

*Good dual sport tires 60% dirt 40% street somewhere around there

I appreciate all the tips and help I receive!