250r TO 250x help!

bike is a 2005 crf250r I have tried adjusting rear shock with no great benefits. I'm 5 10' 160 and the rear suspension is very firm this bike is 60% pits 20% track and 20% trail. a friend has a 250x and the rear sag and setup seems perfect! can I buy a 250x rear shock assembly and bolt it on direct? will this cure my rear suspension issue (sorry I'm a suspension noob) and assuming years 04-07 fit?

2 hours ago, 207RIDER said:

bike is a 2005 crf250r I have tried adjusting rear shock with no great benefits. I'm 5 10' 160 and the rear suspension is very firm this bike is 60% pits 20% track and 20% trail. a friend has a 250x and the rear sag and setup seems perfect! can I buy a 250x rear shock assembly and bolt it on direct? will this cure my rear suspension issue (sorry I'm a suspension noob) and assuming years 04-07 fit?

Might be time to sell this NICE bike and get a 250X for a build :)

3 hours ago, 207RIDER said:

60% pits 20% track and 20% trail.

Yeah by the sounds of it, perhaps a complete CRF250X would better suit your usage.

However I did experiment revalving a friend's '07 CRF250R with pretty much the stock X settings (spring rates plus valve stacks)

At only 135lbs, the softer settings suit him better even for recreational motocross usage but are likely still too stiff for trail riding.

Myself at 165lbs find the stock X shock spring too soft and fork springs too stiff for 100% trail riding.

Edited by mlatour
  • Like 1

Might be time to sell this NICE bike and get a 250X for a build
250x are hard to come by up here and they are very over priced when they do. part of it I'm sure is the difference from the couch cushion xr400 I was used too.. no comparison I love the weight and power but if I could get the suspension dialed in I would be a happy camper
Yeah by the sounds of it, perhaps a complete CRF250X would better suit your usage.