Fork Oil Filling Method

WR450 2007. I am at the stage where I am putting in new fork oil after disassembling and reassembling my forks. I have never done this before but I have the correct oil, I have the correct measuring tool, I have read the manual and I have watched Dirt Bike, Dirt Rider, Rocky Mountain Youtube videos.

I just want to check what the correct way of pumping the damper and outer tube is before measuring the oil to dump all the air. The manual says to fill and pump the damper more than 10 times, then fill again and move the outer tube up and down but no more than 7.9 inches else air will get in, then measure.

Racetech instructions from what I can understand say to fully extended and then fully compress the outer tube before measuring the fork oil which seems the complete opposite from the manual.

In the Youtube videos I don't think they move the outer tube, only the inner damper.

I remember reading at suspension thread where someone was warning that if you get air stuck in a particular place it could blow the internal seals and completely mess everything up requiring another rebuild. Can someone shed some light on this as I can't remember where I saw this warning and what bit it was referring to. I don't quite understand the reason for moving the outer tube, where does the air get stuck around there?

Edited by Snow Drift

2007 forks are Open Chamber forks, not Closed Cartridge forks, and do not have 'inner seals'.

It's just a spring base valve and a mid valve stack with a piston sealing ring.

Watch this video at 13:00 + for everything on how to correctly set up your kind of forks.

Thank you that video was very helpful. I had watched the other video Dirt Rider made, presumably for closed chamber forks. Although I realised my forks weren't the same as in the video I assumed that there were differences between models so just followed the general idea of what he was doing.

4 hours ago, Snow Drift said: