74jimbo's engine build thread

So.... As I am still a newbie, and keep necroposting, I decided to make my own engine build thread. where I can post my experience, experiment, and ask questions pertaining to my build...

To start, I seized my piston.... I am going to be rebuilding my own engine, making a Big Bore and a Stroker crank to a 470. I will be using the stock 36 BSR Mikuni carb, re-jetter with a James Dean kit. I ride around sea level, in the San Francisco bay area. I am a large guy around 265 lbs, maybe more, with gear and stuff.

I have started accumulating parts for this build, very slowly....

So far:

The TT Galfer BOGO deal (silver fittings, blue lines, front and rear, and Galfer front and rear brake pads) (ordered already, but not in my hands)

JT Sprockets JTF432.15SC 15T Steel Front Sprocket

JT Sprockets JTR808.41 41T Steel Rear Sprocket

JT Sprockets JTC520X1R2150DL Steel 150-Link Heavy Duty X-Ring Drive Chain (520 X1R2) (will need to cut this down, it was an amazing deal! $22.54)

MSR Hard Parts 25-4025 Msr Counter Shaft Kit

Pit Posse PP2732 Flywheel Rotor Magneto Puller Tool 38mmX1.5 RH Female Suzuki

Maxima Racing Oils AFR-3403-00 ProFilter Ready-To-Use Air Filter

G-Plus Blue Silicone Radiator Hose Kit + Clamps

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I will be re-doing the the stator and starter loctite fix, as well as the loctite counter shaft fix

not sure on the MCCT yet

For the BB, not sure what brand yet, but probably CW, not sure on piston yet.

the more I read, people are saying I must have an FCR41, shouldn't go with the stroker crank, should only do a BB, this, that, etc.... AGH!!!!!!!!!! I have a stock head with stock valves, at this time, they are not being replaced, or taken apart -but I will clean them up externally with carb cleaner

I think my con rod bearing is also bad, that is why I want to replace it with a new bottom end