2008 CRF250X carb tune questions

I'm a complete beginner mechanic and a rider returning to the sport after 33yrs off the moto. Got back into it for father son time and we're loving it!

I picked up a brand new 2008 CRF250X. Yep you read that right some rich guy bought it and road it around the block and parked it for the last 10yrs. It still has chalk marks on the tires!

I got it and took it straight to the shop to have carb cleaned and external air / fuel mixture screw installed. Went and road it today and it doesn't seem to be running correctly. The shop also said they removed the smog equipment?? Anyhow the bike has an inconsistent idle and feels like it surges at low speed tech trails. When dead cold it doesn't need to be choked to start. When warm it starts only with hot start lever engaged. After riding downhills at idle it would stallIMG_1482.jpg out at idle and would stall after idle then rolling on throttle. Is it just the mixture is to rich? Any help is appreciated. I'm done with taking it to the shop. Just want to learn how to do it myself. Shop was like $350 for a carb clean???

Well first, congrats on a find like that.

As for the $350, yes, shops can be expensive and you can save a ton of money doing work yourself, which is really not all that difficult.  I would add though that ease of maintenance was not the primary goal of the CRF's; they are competition racing bikes.   The carb takes some effort to remove and is not as simple as one would think (nothing difficult, but it takes time).