Cr125 wide open on startup

So I've been building this bike for a few months now bought it in a box of parts, had it running the other day but the float needed adjusted so I pulled the carb, adjusted the float and threw a rebuild kit into it while I was in there, got her all thrown together and the throttle is held wide open haha, scared the hell out of me. I re checked the cable checked the slide, and checked the air boot for leaks, I also backed the throttle screw almost all the way out, and screwed the air screw in quite a ways. Can't seem to figure out the issue, can a wrongly adjusted float cause this??? Any help would be appreciated.

IMG_2121.JPG

• Like 1

Also double check that your slide is not in backwards

Edit- I just realized you said you checked the slide but I still think there's something wrong with the slide. If the bike was running fine before you pulled the carb I highly doubt the crank sealed failed to a point of making this much difference just in the time you had the carb apart. That being said a bad left crank seal would do this but I think your issue is carb related

• Like 1

Can the slide go in backwards??? Mine has a groove on it think it can only go in one way. I could be wrong tho. And a left side crank seal will hold it wide open?

Can the slide go in backwards??? Mine has a groove on it think it can only go in one way. I could be wrong tho. And a left side crank seal will hold it wide open?

The needle could be stuck holding the slide up. An air leak from the left crank seal could definitely cause a pretty high idle but I've never seen one make the bike scream wide open, there's just not enough fuel for that coming through with the slide closed. Your carb slide doesn't have to be open that much to make the bike scream

• Like 1