New Rider Gear - Gaerne SG-12?!

I am just getting into riding and buying all the protective gear I need and am wondering what boot would be best. My biggest concern is safety, I know I will be crashing a lot and want to keep my feet and ankles working. I bought a CRF230F so I wont be doing any extreme riding anytime soon so I don't know if the SG-12s are appropriate or would be considered overkill? I really don't want to spend that much money on boots but the more I research the more I see people suggest spending the $$ for the protection. 

I bought a Fly F2 Carbon MIPS helmet which I thought would be the most expensive piece of equipment, didn't know boots cost so much. Is there anything else that is considered a "need to have" safety wise for riding in the desert or should boots and helmet be a good start?

I've have found the alpinestars to be the best I've only owned these boots since I first started riding the tech 10s are the best they are expensive but when it comes to safety I don't cheep out all alpinestars are great check them out I would highly recommend these to anyone they won't let you down heres a link the the website http://www.alpinestars.com/mx/footwear

I've owned a* and Gaerne, and the quality isn't even comparable.

The Gaerne SG12 is hands down the best (and most comfortable) boot I've worn.

• Like 7

You can't go wrong with Gaerne boots. If you're not picky on color look at boots that are on closeout. I just bought a pair of sg12's size 11 for $350 delivered. There are some good deals to be had if you look for them.

• Like 2

What's great about the SG12s safety wise is the pivoting ankles. They feel natural until you over jump something or impact, then the built it stops help prevent hyperextension and compression

5 hours ago, rkulp89 said:

... I bought a CRF230F so I wont be doing any extreme riding anytime soon so I don't know if the SG-12s are appropriate or would be considered overkill? ...