Blown yz125 Replated or Replaced?

Hey guys, so I pulled apart the yz125 i just bought and top end is gone. The piston looks like hell so obviously I'll replace that, but i'm wondering if I should replate the  cylinder or just buy another? It's really not in terrible shape in fact it has most cross hatching still in, but there is one minor scar in the side wall. Also i'm winding how important it would be to also replace the   cylinder head, as is pretty chewed up... I tried to attached some pics of these. Would you replace both or should I just replate them? Let me know what you would do with this engine as I'm new to two smokes.

IMG_5755.JPG

IMG_5758.JPG

IMG_5756.JPG

Edited by xtactical

Have you dis-assembled the bottom end?

The damage on the piston's crown and cylinder head may suggest a bearing failure.

Depending on your location (cost of shipping) 

buying new could be a better option than having your damaged cylinder replated.

Edited by mlatour

52 minutes ago, mlatour said:

Have you dis-assembled the bottom end?

The damage on the piston's crown and cylinder head may suggest a bearing failure.

I'll have time to get into the bottom end late today, I can't see or feel any issues yet with it but i'll open it up to see what's going on anyway.

Guy I bought it from told me both top and bottom were done less than 3hrs ago, so he either lied or blew the thing up himself. I know he has been running it the way you see it, and of course was a PITA to start and would bog out at idle prob due to piston damage...

55 minutes ago, P84ONE said:

Re-plate and send or buy piston from re-plater. Clean up head, and you should be good. 

Is it possible to save the head if I buff out the scratches myself or will that mess up compression?

37 minutes ago, S.O.A.N.Z said:

2000 model ?

I believe it's a 99, at least the cylinder is, engine was built by some performance garage in Miami called Zambrama and I found some wierd things when I opened it up.