GPS Software for Mac

Hi All,

I just bought a Garmin Montana for an upcoming ride and have been really shocked at how difficult it has been to get things setup with Garmin's Basecamp software. I am an IT professional - and find the application so counterintuitive and difficult to use that I am ready to give up. I'm thinking it probably would be a little easier if I coughed up another $100 for the Garmin official maps, but I already shelled out a big chunk of change for the unit & have most of the routes I need in .gpx format. 

Anyone able to recommend a user friendly alternative to Basecamp that'll run on Mac OS X ?

Thanks.

• Like 1

you aren't supposed to think, or understand why it does the things it does, nor the asinine steps required to use it... you're just supposed to bend to "how we do things round here" and accept it. 

yes I'm serious. 

the maps installed do not improve the process with basecamp. for Garmin products, it's best if the maps on the device match the maps you use for routing in basecamp. for smartphone, it doesn't matter at all. 

try furkot (online), Googlemymaps, Harley ride planner, or any of the other myriad of great online sources that dont suck, listed when you search for ride planning software. just keep in mind the Garmins are limited to how many routing points you can use, and that it will recalculate if you don't use tracks instead . 

Edited by ohgood
  • Like 1

Basecamp did seem awkward to me, the operation flow was real  weird.

Most of my GPS work is done on the Mac.  Just a few days ago I loaded a bunch of radio sites and marked out some access roads for a job coming up in a few weeks.

A few tools I use:

Google Earth Pro: Visualizing and creating/manipulating the data.  Waypoints ("Placemarks") and tracks ("Paths") are pretty straightforward to deal with.  Export the place/folder as KML.  Pro is a free tool now, and adds a few features (mostly GIS stuff) over the regular version.  No reason not to go with Pro.