Strapping my bike on the trailer

I have been riding bikes for 44 years and just recently purchased a 2108 450SXF. I bought KTM straps, which had soft straps, and I had a friend say that KTM says DO NOT STRAP THE HANDLEBARS, but rather strap the triple clamps. Input or feedback? I've never done this!

It works great. It compresses the forks for resistance, lowers the leverage on the bike and doesn’t mess with controls and cables. Never had it fail and doesn’t slip in position.

8 minutes ago, lp6 said:

It works great. It compresses the forks for resistance, lowers the leverage on the bike and doesn’t mess with controls and cables. Never had it fail and doesn’t slip in position.

OK. Are using tethers? 

Not sure what you mean. The soft strap wraps around the forks, loops on the end of the strap hook to hook sewn in to the strap and at the end is a buckle. Another strap (trapped in the tensioning buckle or ratchet, depending which model you have) with a hook or clip goes to the trailer. Pull the tag end(loose end) of the strap coming out of the buckle and that is it to tension it. You can cinch down the pegs or rear wheel if you are worried about it flopping around. Most of that depend on trailer configuration. I use a hitch carrier mostly and hook a strap to the pegs to hold the center down and the rear wheel in the tray.

I use Lock n Load on my bikes in general but i have done the lower clamp thing before.  Generally on sport bikes where its easier to get to the lower clamp.  I have never had issues going to the bars as long as you wrap under the kill switch wire/clutch line.