confederateJACK

Would low disc brake fluid, in itself, cause brake to lock up/grab?

27 posts in this topic

Would Low disc brake fluid, in itself, cause a front disc brake to grab and lock up?  I have a 96 DR350 and when I bought it the guy told me that the front brake fluid was low, but I kept forgetting to buy some (Dot-4).  I've been riding the bike for almost 2 months and it's been doing great, no complaints.  But last time I rode it I did notice that the front brake wasn't as good as it normally was. Well I took it for a ride today and got about a quarter mile down the road at about 35mph and started to notice a slight surging grab on the bike, couldn't figure out why so I slowed down to pull into a driveway and as soon as I hit gravel it locked up and I tucked it and tipped over (I can't remember for sure, but I might have tried to use a little front brake as I pulled in). the front brake lever felt tight and wouldn't pull and the brake stayed locked on the wheel (not totally locked up but mostly) for just a minute or so and the disc felt slightly warm but not hot by any means. after a couple minutes it opened back up and the bike would roll freely.  So I rode back home slowly at about 5-10mph, stopping about 4 times and resting a minute or two so it would not get hot, I checked the disc every time I stopped and it barely felt a little warm to the touch but not hot and not even very warm, just slightly warm. The fluid level looks empty through the looking glass and after I got home the bike rolls free and fine.  I suspect the low brake fluid caused the brakes to grab because it didn't have enough fluid in the system to keep them open.  Does this sound like a reasonable scenario for the brake grabbing and locking up?...Low fluid alone as the culprit?  Sounds probable to me I was just looking for input. I didn't know that would happen just because of low fluid, I thought the brakes just wouldn't work if the fluid got too low.  But it seems that the fluid not o