XR650L not starting and spark plug issue

Hey, first off I'm new to motorbikes so I may be using the wrong terminology here and there.

I haven't run my bike for a few months and now it's not starting. I'm in neutral, tried the choke at different levels, full gas tank.

I may have flooded the carbs, but I wanted to check the spark plug first because I have no clue about carbs.

1. I've attached a photo of the spark plug, could this be the reason it's not starting?
  2. When removing the cap have I pulled too hard and snapped the wire (see photo), if I've snapped this piece what's it called and what am I replacing?

Really appreciate the help, 

Cheers,

IMG_6003.jpg

IMG_6004.jpg

IMG_6006.jpg

9 hours ago, mapexdrums said:

I may have flooded the carbs, but I wanted to check the spark plug first because I have no clue about carbs.

Apparently you don't know much about carburetors.  The one on the XR650L can't flood, so don't worry about that.

If you want to see if the spark plug is producing a good spark, connect it to the wires and hold the edge of it against the engine somewhere, then push the starter button and look at the plug.  You'll see a blue spark if it is working properly.

If you let the bike sit for months without starting it and didn't drain the carburetor first, you might now have some gunk of some sort in the small openings in the carburetor that are used during starting and when the engine is idling.  That would make it very difficult to start.

What you should have done before parking it is to drain the fuel from the carburetor.  Those of us with California versions of the XR650L don't have carburetor drain screws, so you can just shut the fuel off and ride it a block or two until the engine sucks most of the gas out of the carburetor.