PNW Woods Bike - Recommendations ?

I've read numerous posts on here regarding "what bike is best for me", and the bazillion comments, which confuses me more.  So I figured I'd post my own and see what kind of response I get.  Short story... Female, late 40s, riding in the Pacific Northwest, just got back into it this last year. 80% woods (single track or ATV trails, LOTS of trees, ruts, rocks, and roots), 20%... other stuff.  Currently riding a 1995 XR250R.  In years past I owned late 80s XR200 and early 90s CR250, but desert / So Cal kind of riding then.  The CR was a bit too much zip for me then.  I'm fairly new to the woods, so learning how to ride more technical, and why they call them "bark busters".  I'm looking at moving up, over, whatever to a different bike.  The XR is bullet proof, but a tad heavy, and kind of... rigid (?).  I keep thinking I'd like to find the middle ground of the XR and a 125 2 stroke. Something lighter, more nimble or whatever. So the search is leading me to some late 2000s 4 stroke mxers.   Currently eyeballing a 2009 CRF250R, and a 2007 YZ250F.   Am I on the right track ?   I've considered the 2000s YZ, KX, CR, RM 125 as well, with the mods for woods...  The idea of a 195 lb bike, and jack rabbit style riding is intriguing :)  but reading the 4s might be more forgiving, don't have to be wound out as much, and give a steady power band... yeah I know, valve checks, oil and filter changes, maint stuff n things.  Thoughts ?

• Like 1