Seized kickstart?

Hey guys, so my 1982 XL250R has recently come into a problem.  A few weeks ago, I tried to start it and it would not start, and then the kickstarter got stuck and would not move that much when I would try to start the bike.  I tried to push start it, but when I let go of the clutch the rear wheel just skidded.  I originally thought that the engine was seized, but then I pulled the crankshaft bolt access cover off and I was very easily able to rotate the crankshaft without much effort.  I am a full time student and have not had much time at all to try to dig into it yet, so what do you more experienced guys think of this?  Bad starter gears or worse?  

Our recommendation is...
Buy a different motorcycle.
Your considering fixing a 35 year old Honda? 
It sounds like it might be your daily transportation?
If it's a hobby bike then by all means look into fixing it.
If you need transportation... You can buy a good motorcycle for about $1000.
It'll cost you a few hundred in parts along to fix that Honda.
Our 2 ¢

19 hours ago, yeti_runner said:

I tried to push start it, but when I let go of the clutch the rear wheel just skidded.

When you push or pull start it, you need to be in 3rd gear when you dump the clutch. 1st is too low.

Are you trying to start it in gear with the kickstarter?

Edited by Trailryder42
22 hours ago, arthur6 said:

Our recommendation is...
Buy a different motorcycle.
Your considering fixing a 35 year old Honda? 
It sounds like it might be your daily transportation?
If it's a hobby bike then by all means look into fixing it.
If you need transportation... You can buy a good motorcycle for about $1000.
It'll cost you a few hundred in parts along to fix that Honda.
Our 2 ¢

It is not my daily transportation.  It's just one of my hobbies, but it kills me not being able to ride.  I would love to buy a motorcycle around that price that is reliable, I just don't have the money to do so.

3 hours ago, Trailryder42 said: