Yz 85 or yz 125

Hi I’m 15 and I’m from Ireland. I can’t decide what bike to buy. I have no experience on dirt bikes(only small road bikes). I have been riding quads with about 10 years and I’m looking for a change. I can’t decide what to get a yz 125 or 85 since I’m only 5 4 and 55 kg. I have a lot of experience on quads so I’m not afraid of speed and power but I really don’t know much about bikes. Any advice would be appreciated .

Hi Adam,

What kind of land would you be riding on?  Woods?  Track?

I am 14 and have been into dirt bikes for a few years.  I'm about 6 ft tall and about 70kg and i have a cr125.  It is diffidently not to big...In fact i might be ready to move up to a 250 2t or a 450.

According to my experience i would say a yz125 would be a little big for right now.

When i was about your size, about 3 years ago, i had a sx85 (ktm) and it was a little bit small but it was great to learn the 2 stroke on it.  If you go get a yz125 you might end up getting hurt and it would be so big you would feel as if the bike were controlling you not you controlling the bike.  

I feel like i can dominate and be in total control of my 125.  If you got one, idk if you'd like it.  So, start small.  85 2t

OR

A four stroke might be a good option as well.    Like a crf230 or crf250.   The power is there in the 250 4t but it does not hit nearly as hard as your yz125 would.  By the way, yz's have the most aggressive, snappy powerband sooooo...

Any way let us know if you have any other questions i'd be glad to help!

I will be riding a mix of both track and woods, mostly woods but I really don’t like four strokes I will probably stick with a 2 stroke since all my quads are two stroke. Thanks for the advice 

Ok, but for bush riding a 4 stroke would be easier.  I hear you though....2 strokes are just better!