Great... Another Dual Sport Tire Post

I know, I know, there are a thousand of these. I have read through most of them, but still want your guy's input specific to me needs/wants.

I just got a plate for my WR450F. I have been riding strictly off-road for 20+ years and am an expert lever rider. I have multiple sets of wheels (front and rear), so now that I have a plate, I want to mount up a set of dual sport tires. My main problem is that I am not completely sure what my dual sport rides will look like yet. I may do some all paved rides (like commuting to work), and I may do some rides without any pavement (dirt roads and two track). I think my dual sport rides will all be in the summer as riding on wet roads in the cold at speed doesn't sound like fun (that's what single track is for, keeps you warm in the winter).

From reading threads on the subject I was initially leaning towards a Dunlop 606 rear and a Pereli MT21 front. But I am concerned how those will handle on the street.

Dunlop_D606_Dual_Purpose_Tires_1800x1800

61-034-11.jpg

A more street friendly combo that I am liking the looks of are the Kenda (or Shinko) big block tires. I am not too concerned about how these will handle mud, but am a bit concerned how they will handle loose dirt trails while going up hill. Do they have enough drive and bite?

KENDA-K784-BIG-BLOCK-2.jpg

20151020_121324_zpssqlsfipy.jpg

Price is a bit of a concern for me because regardless of what tires I get they may end up not being right for me since I really don't know how much paved riding I will end up doing. My dual sport tires will never be used for a full off-road ride since I will have wheels with soft terrain and hard terrain knobbies on them for those rides. I am thinking that I would like to do a section of the Oregon Back Country Discovery Route this summer so maybe I should target that type of dual sport riding.

I know, not a whole lot of solid info for you guys to help me, but I have seen you do more with much less.