Can You Go Pro Without a Moto Trainer

First off, I know I'm never going pro, but do you think it is possible to be winning moto/super cross championships with only self taught talent, without the aid of a professional trainer. Just curious.

• Like 1

Even back in 'olden tymes' everyone had trainers and spotters. Looking for mistakes. Identifying areas they can improve on. Pushing during exercises and also knowing when to tell you to take a break or do something different.

Every fast rider is doing similar things...its a whole lot quicker to be shown those techniques than to figure them out on your own. Its true in every sport.

35 minutes ago, Sofiedog said:

Every fast rider is doing similar things...its a whole lot quicker to be shown those techniques than to figure them out on your own. Its true in every sport.

Expanding on this,

As a new rider wouldn't it make sense to learn from a pro/coach as soon as possible to eliminate repeating others mistakes? Everyone says seat time, but I keep considering trying to find a instructor to accelerate my learning.

Edited by NEGbrap

Expanding on this,

As a new rider wouldn't it make sense to learn from a pro/coach as soon as possible to eliminate repeating others mistakes? Everyone says seat time, but I keep considering trying to find a instructor to accelerate my learning.

I'm there...been riding MX...actually VMX for only one year.
Its seat time with proper technique that counts.
I've been practicing with a few of Gary Semics videos...I love it. Techniques obviously make you faster...but I have to slow down to 80% in practice 'thinking' about executing techniques...then, over time, they happen without thinking.
A private lesson from an instructor would do me wonders, I'm sure.
  • Like 3

Befriend a vet A racer and learn from him . Just do the best you can not as easy as looks 

8 minutes ago, Sofiedog said:

I'm there...been riding MX...actually VMX for only one year.