Using a battery tender - disconnect battery first?

I've been using a battery tender on my 2015 WR250F for about six months now. I have a pigtail wired into the main battery so I can quickly and easily plug it in when I'm done riding.   Was chatting with a buddy about using a battery tender and he said he had read many times that you should disconnect your battery from the rest of the bike before using a battery tender (specifically just the negative cable).  "They" say  to do this to protect the ECU and other expensive electrical components should the battery tender malfunction or short out and damage them.  

I had never heard this and have never had a problem with simply plugging in the battery tender. But if it's best practice to disconnect the battery to protect the bike, I will. 

What say you, experts?

I'm not an expert but I've used trickle chargers on cars and bikes since the 1980's and have never heard of this nor had a problem.

My 09 wr250f has a switch that kills all power does your 15?.  I use one on my ktm for years and never a problem. 

My 2015 does not have a 'master switch' like that. I get the feeling the people that suggest this are running fuel injected / computer controlled bikes.

read the charger manual but i never unwire terminals when charging.

No need to disconnect when on a tender. The only time you want to disconnect and remove a battery is when it is a large battery (car/truck) and you are 'fast charging' it. Not a situation with a bike battery.

Some modern computer controlled autos have voltage/current sensors in the battery terminals and it can 'confuse' the computer if the voltage is high (over 13V) at the battery as the battery voltage is expected to be less. To get around this you charge these in place by connecting to the terminal that the alternator feeds. But again, a non-issue on a bike.