Hey all. Anyone know if I can run cam 2 110 octane leaded racing fuel in my stock DRZ400? I run Sunoco gt100 octane and the throttle response plus hp gain is very noticeable. 

3 minutes ago, Brettskii said:

Hey all. Anyone know if I can run cam 2 110 octane leaded racing fuel in my stock DRZ400? I run Sunoco gt100 octane and the throttle response plus hp gain is very noticeable. 

Interesting that you can feel the difference with a higher octane gasoline. Higher octane is just going to prevent predetination. I don't think it would give any more HP. Throttle response and fuel mileage sure, but not HP. I am by no means an expert on the subject but this is my understanding.

I'm no expert either, but from what I've read to understand is that using a higher octane than your bike requires is a waste. My DRZ calls for 91octane, I believe

I had a drz400sm and it ran the best on 91-93 octane. Ethanol free of course. They're not really high output engines until you do work to them.

• Like 1

NO lol. Octane is a measure of the explosive potential of fuel, thats it. Lower octane fuel actually provides MORE energy because it is more explosive. You do not gain hp by using higher octane. People get confused about this because higher performance engines with higher compression need higher octane to prevent predetonation. That said, run all the leaded fuel you want, if you don't have a catalytic converter it won't hurt anything, but it is toxic and will absolutely not gain you any performance.
  • Like 3

10 minutes ago, HeavyRotation said: