1992 yz 250 cylinder comparability

Hello, i am a long time lurker on these forums and i have recently decided to join the community. Last week i got a 1992 yz 250 for free from a friend the good about it is the bottom end and transmission is in great shape the frame and brakes are decent the bad is the cylinder got taken out by the last failure. Im looking to see what other years cylinder might fit, and if i cant find one should i get it re sleeved?IMG_5705.JPGIMG_5706.JPGIMG_5704.JPG

Would either of those be better than getting la sleeve to put a fresh sleeve in and final hone it to the piston? Im kind of new to the whole nickasil vs cast iron sleeve

Ideally, you want to get the cylinder Nickasil-ed. A good plater should be able to clean up the bore, replate, and get a matching piston without much trouble. They may have to over-bore it (depending on damage to the cylinder), as long as a matching piston can be found.

A steel sleeve does not have the heat-transfer capability of Nickasil, and is generally considered a down grade to a motor.

Cool project! Keep us updated on what you find. :thumbsup:

Edit: Looking at the pictures again seems to show that your cylinder has a sleeve in it. This was probably the stock design, before Nickasil was widely used. In that case, a new sleeve is your only choice.

Edited by CaptDan
Second look...

You would be wrong the yz 250 started using plated cylinders on the 88 model year. So that cylinder has been sleeved in the past. Not only does a sleeve suck on heat transfer and the added weight. 

Many times when a plated cylinder is sleeved like that the port alignments become mismatched effecting performance negatively. Plus a sleeve maybe cheaper in the immediate but a plated cylinder will wear and last much longer and offers better tighter clearances which means better power. 

Edit: