2006 Thumpstar 125 rear shock upgrade

I just picked up a 2006 Thumpstar 125 and I want to upgrade the rear shock to accomodate my weight. I'm 6'1" and just about 300lbs. My bike has the A style or triangle style swing arm. There's some decent looking 1200lb rear shocks on ebay or there's the Fast Ace 550lb rear shock on Tbolt which says is for A style swing arms. My question is, would the 1200lb rear shock be the way to go for a guy like me even on the A style setup? Also would a 280mm shock work? And does the shock have to be A style specific or not?

Edited by 06thumpstarpro

I am no expert, but in my research I have found that the A-arm style (triangular) generally uses a shock that is considerably less "lbs" than the single swing arm (mono shock) set up.

For an example: (average or typical)

Single Swing Arm set up might use: 1000 lbs rear shock

A-arm (Triangular) style: Might use a 250 lbs rear shock

Personally, I upgraded my wife's pit bike recently.  Hers uses the single swing arm set up.  I installed a much better rear shock and it was rated at 980lbs.

It was way too soft (like for a kid weighing maybe 75-85lbs) before with no real damping. Now it's way better...More firm, with actual shock damping and resistance...It's basically perfect now, and balanced with the firmness of the front fork...It was just way too soft in the rear before.

For your situation I am thinking 1200 lb spring would be way to stiff with your style of suspension.

20180322_013519_Burst01.jpg

20180323_170845.jpg

20180323_170927.jpg

20180324_183424.jpg

Edited by Explorer1987Nate
Add pics

1 hour ago, Explorer1987Nate said:

I am no expert, but in my research I have found that the A-arm style (triangular) generally uses a shock that is considerably less "lbs" than the single swing arm (mono shock) set up.

For an example: (average or typical)

Single Swing Arm set up might use: 1000 lbs rear shock

A-arm (Triangular) style: Might use a 250 lbs rear shock