Antigravity Batteries Product Giveaways - LAST NIGHT TO ENTER! Read more... ×

How do I get more power out of my 2018 YZ250FX

Hey guys, I am new to TT and this is my first post. I have been lurking for a while as I researched the purchase of my new bike and that research brought me to a 2018 YZ250FX. I used to race a 2005 WR250F and I really liked how bullet proof the engine was on it so I went back to Yamaha. I am coming off a 2008 KTM 250 XCF-W in which I really loved but it was time for a new bike. So far, the FX has better suspension and pretty much everything else is better except the power. I feel like when i need to pop the clutch to get over a log or something it just dosnt have the same get up as my old KTM. My ktm had a FMF powercore 4 slip on exhaust and was jetted with no other upgrades. My 18 FX has the FMF factory 4.1 exhaust with nothing else done to it. My question is, how can I get more power out of my FX? I have read several post on TT about people needing to tame the throttle down on the FX but I havnt had that issue. Could tuning it and giving it a different map help?

Thanks guys in advance!

IMG_0068.JPG

• Like 1

Interesting. I picked up an 18 FX and am one of those that find it very responsive on the low end. I ended up installing the G2 throttle cam throttle tube to calm it down. I wonder if your exhaust has anything to do with it?

• Like 1

TBH, I just installed the FMF pipe yesterday and only had a short while to ride it around the yard but it still did not feel as responsive as I thought it would. I had a race last weekend and I ran into several situations where I needed to hop over a log or what ever and it just did not seem to have the get up i was used to on the KTM.

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

Im sure this isn't anything the power tuner cant fix. Get that thing ASAP or barrow a friends at the track.!

Edited by Strength Moto
  • Like 1

2 minutes ago, Strength Moto said: