gavinmgrant

My battle and victory against arm pump

Posted (edited)

Hi everyone, 

So I have been riding dirt bikes for about 9 years (started at 12 and Im 21 now.) Though throughout my riding time I was not always serious about racing. My first races took place about 5 years ago on a 2008 crf250r which I no longer have. During those races I found I could keep a great pace for about two laps, then my hands would cramp so bad I couldn't hold onto the bars anymore. At that point I pretty much said "forget racing, Id rather just go trail ride if it's that hard for me." But I kept trying to improve my speed and work on my technique, but would still run into arm pump every time I tried to go fast. Arm pump is a huge problem for a lot of riders and it can be very discouraging also. Now that I have a bike i truly love (2012 kx250f) that has suspension valved for me, bars that fit me perfectly, good grips, good gloves, etc. I thought my arm pump issues would be over now that I have a perfectly set up bike. Nope. Arm pump was still an issue. So i took it upon myself to get my arm pump fixed by a professional rider just LAST WEEKEND after all these years. I'll share with you my victory against arm pump below:

A local track owner in my area has been racing for 43 years and is very fast and has perfect technique. He also offers training courses on his track seven days a week, so i expressed to him my issues.