COMMANDER RENFROW

SCARED of crashing and jumping

Hello Ive been riding for five years and I have a problem. I am still scared of crashing and doing jumps. I want this to be fixed. Im about to get an upgrade and this is big for me. but with this Im going to be doing more jumps going faster ect. Is there a way to help get over this I will exept help from any one. Thankyou for your time.

Do you do any of the jumps at the moment, or is it that you do them but feel very inhibited?  I think it is normal to have some fear.  I think the top riders even have some fear but are very good at putting it aside and working through it after a bad crash.  They are able to ride fast despite the fear.....channel it if you will.   If the fear makes it nearly impossible to ride then that’s a problem and can actually be a safety issue. 

Big jumps are bloody scary, that’s a fact.   There would be something wrong and maybe cause for concern if there was no fear at all....lol.   I think it is part of what makes it feel so satisfying when you conquer a jump you thought you could never do or were previously afraid of.

If you get the opportunity ride with a more seasoned rider that you can follow over the jumps to match his/her speed.  But before going big, log hundreds even thousands of smaller jumps until jumping and controlling the bike in the air becomes comfortable and your reactions become second nature.  I think it’s like a lot of other things you have to develop it and through enough successful jumps plant the seed in your mind that you can do it.....through positive reinforcement each time you complete a jump successfully.

I’m far from a pro so take my advice with a grain of salt, but it’s how I see it and how my riding experiences have been. 

• Like 2