Hi, I have just bought a kx250f, 2013 with a freshly rebuilt 2016 motor in it, this is my first time on these forums, anyways, I have also bought a lowering link to drop it 4 inches on the arse, I was wondering if anyone knows how much I should drop the forks? 

I havent put the lowering link on yet. 

Thanks.  

Well you could look up a rake angle and measure. Test. Readjust.
Or just do it inch by inch and see what's comfortable to you.
It'll steer differently and you'll notice.
We don't know cause we don't know your weight and sag settings when I think that plays in.
Raise forks inch by inch and test. It'll take an hour.

• Like 1

Well you could look up a rake angle and measure. Test. Readjust.
Or just do it inch by inch and see what's comfortable to you.
It'll steer differently and you'll notice.
We don't know cause we don't know your weight and sag settings when I think that plays in.
Raise forks inch by inch and test. It'll take an hour.

Thanks for the reply, I guess there is no better way than just trial and error.

I am not sure of how they set up the shock, I only just bought the bike so previous owner could have done anything with it for his weight and purpose, I dont know if he raced it or used it for trail riding or was just riding it around his property.

He traded it to the bike shop and didnt tell them anything bout it.

I dont know much about how to do sag settings but I bet I can find a lot of youtube vids on it (I hope) I am around 96kgs, after lowering it, would I need to adjust the preload? Or is it just one of those things where, like with the forks, if it feels right then leave it, and if it doesnt just keep adjusting and trying it out?

I will give it a shot anyway and see how I go, thanks again!

Read about setting static sag and race sag.
EVerything with suspension creates a different bike. And it is to be created for you.
I might be negative saying this, but it was designed/made by a 40 kg dude! And 96kg...thats over 200lbs?