Dinyoclese

1975 Honda XL100 timing question

Hi all,

I'm a total noob to fixing vintage bikes and could use a hand if anyone has any knowledge they could share about timing for my 1975 XL100. I recently purchased it from a guy and the bike ran. After riding it around for about an hour the bike would not idle. I checked out the plug, replaced it and it would run again for about an hour. I thought maybe I got a bad plug and did this a third time before I finally accepted that there was a problem. I have gone though quite a bit of this bike at this point. I have replaced the  rectifier, the coil, and the condenser (The points look good). I have found a few electrical problems mostly in the way of corroded connections and have replaced them to ensure that I am getting proper spark and that the charging system is functional. I replaced the battery. I replaced the carburetor, because I couldn't get the stock carburetor to idle properly not matter how I adjusted it. Finally after all of this I could get the bike to idle properly, but I couldn't get the bike to allow for the throttle to be opened beyond 1/4. I assumed this was likely a lean mixture. I enriched the mixture with the jet needle, no help. I tried spaying starter fluid into the air intake to prove or disprove that I had a lean condition. Starter fluid did not resolve the problem.