KX450CARider

california KX450F appropriate trails?

I'm new to riding and just bought a nice 2012 KX450. I seem to like trail riding more than tracks and was wondering if any other 450 riders know of good trails that are not tight, single tracks. I live in Placer County, so Auburn, Foresthill, Oroville, Folsom, etc....will be my go to areas. I went to Georgetown OHV about a month ago and got on trail #9 and it was a disaster. Rocky and very technical. Not good for the 450 and I just left.  I kind of wish that I had done more research and bought an enduro or 250, but hate to scrap it and sell the 450 after only having it for 2 months.  I'm a bigger guy at 6'1 and 230 lbs, so size isn't the issue.  Any help with this would be much appreciated. Thanks, Greg 

Edited by KX450CARider

A KX450 might not be the best bike for a new rider to use as a trail bike.  Select your trails carefully.  You might want to cut your losses and get a more appropriate bike.

Edited by Gflo
  • Like 2
  • Helpful 2

I would agree with the others here by saying that a kx450 isn't a good bike for you to learn on. I would recommend something like a 250 4 stroke trail bike (CRF250x, wr250f). It will be more than enough power for any trail but still mellow for beginners. The KX is just savage raw power, great desert bikes :ride:

• Like 2

1 hour ago, KX450CARider said: