92RM92DR

92 DR350 Dirt to Street Wiring Help!

Hi all,

I am in the process of converting a dirt model 1992 DR350 to be street legal. I am doing the wiring myself without the help of a kit. (Please excuse the noob-ness, I am no electrician!)

Plan: Add battery. Run power to the battery for charging, run all lights etc from the battery.

Problem: From what I've read, I cannot use the stock dirt model Regulator/rectifier for this. I also cannot pick up a used street model reg/rec because there are a different amount of wires coming off the stator (?)

Main Question: Can I keep the dirt model stock reg/rec to run a lead to keep the battery charged and subsequently run all my lights etc? If no, can someone please point me to the reg/rec that I should be using for this scenario?? (all the places I’ve called are of no help at all!)

Additional Info:

-I am not using any LEDs. All incandescent bulbs.

-Already purchased headlight, dash unit, flasher relay from a parted-out street model DR.

-Already purchased after-market flashers, brake switches, hand switch controller, battery, horn.

-I copied a diagram I saw on another forum and modified it to apply to my situation (I left out the dash unit, although I need wires going to it for the hi/lo indicator and ignition)

Any help/advice is appreciated, even unrelated to the reg/rec question. I'm losing my mind trying to tackle this :bonk::bonk::bonk:

image2.jpg

you should post what state your in.

here in Texas, we only need headlight, taillight, brakelight & horn.

i plated my 94 DR350 a few years ago only adding a brakelight & switch to the stock lighting system.

what your trying to add will require a dual sport stator, regulator, and wiring harness

28 minutes ago, plugeye said:

you should post what state your in.

here in Texas, we only need headlight, taillight, brakelight & horn.

i plated my 94 DR350 a few years ago only adding a brakelight & switch to the stock lighting system.