HairyTrails

Struggling with gears changes wearing boots

I’m new to riding with proper boots on a big bike, I’ve been having trouble changing and downshifting gears with boots on. There is just zero feel. Is this normal or is it my boots? There Mavericks 

That’s a typical issue for new riders or riders using MX style boots for the first time. It just take repetition and practice. Take your time and make sure your shifter is in the best position for you as possible. One thing that helped me was moving to to hinge style boot. I was using some old school non-hinging boots and that made things more difficult. Best of luck.

I had the same issue when I first started riding.  I hated riding with my new boots. I couldn't shift properly and I always locked up the rear wheel when braking.  I just kept riding with the boots and they loosened up and broke in nicely.  I can't ride without them, now.

Give it time and they will break in.

I had singular problems when first wearing MX boots. The first ones I had were Gaerne SG10 and hated them and went back to work boots. Then I bought an used pair of Sidi Crossfire and no more problems. Now I wont ride without them. 

I seem to stomp for downshifting and kick it for up shifting. I have sidi TA boots and half the time the lip of the sole is all that catches the gear shift. Led to a false neutral or two though.

Maybe my shifter is too high. :)

Yeah you'll get it after about 2 hours no worries. Keep at it. I used sneakers till I got my first full time job. Boy did I struggle with boots. Never had issues with gears though, only rear brake. Had to learn to feel at the wheel, not the lever :-)

Shifting down is easy. A good firm down stomp. Up Shifting it harder. Use the more leg.... Less ankle movement than you do with shoes/work boots.

• Like 1

The proper way to shift is to be on the balls of your feet, move your shift foot forward (left) and then shift.
You need to get used to it.