arizona Desert Tires

I am new to riding in the desert and the tiny gravel called sand around here. I run Dunlop AT-81's back home because they work well in a variety of conditions and don't climb mud ruts. The one thing I don't like is that with the narrower tread profile on the AT-81 it doesn't grip as well in hard leaning turns- since the tread doesn't wrap around the carcass as far as say, an MX-52 for example. This makes me wonder if I might "skate" less on the BLM trails if I ran a different tire. What tires are popular out here and why?

I actually run maxxis front and the at81 rear on the xr4, seems to work well. Granted I'm not racing on them so who knows if they hold up under those conditions with a more powerful bike. Did you move the family out west or just visiting?

For desert, the motoZ tractionator HT is a fantastic tire.   I don't like the front though in the HT.  The IT is good but edge chips on the rocks.  Front, I love my AT81F 90/90 At 14#

The Kenda Washougal II is what a lot of guys are running in the high desert here.  Great all around tire.  The dual compound lugs work well.

0b4180cd-d1b9-49fa-b485-a7b8c3c994a2.png

You'll get 10 different answers from 10 different guys. Not a lot of grip out here with any tire, to be honest. It's all rocks, sand and decomposed granite. Just get used to the skating around. Suspension is the most important thing here, with all the rocks.

My favorites are:

Front: Bridgestone M59, Maxxis SI, Shinko 546

Rear: Maxxis IT (not Desert IT), Metzeler MC360 MID HARD

I like the AT81, but can't make them last. Bridgestone X30 are decent, but not on my favorites list.

• Like 1

7 hours ago, KeyKeeper said:

Another option that has great review is the Kenda Parker Desert.

328-6275-parent.jpg