Next bike and taking this hobby a little more serious.

Hello all,

I have a question regarding my next dirt bike purchase.  Currently I have a 2003 Suzuki DRZ250 and like the bike.  It serves my purpose now for trail riding.  I have been contemplating racing harescrambles/enduros.  I have no experience racing and am interested right now from afar.  I have no expectations of becoming competitive but think it may be a fun way to get to know more riders and push myself to get better riding.  Most comments I read about the DRZ250 is that it is a pig and not good for competition.  So what would be the next step up as far as a low maintenance bike that I would not get laughed out of the building if I decided to give the racing a try.  I am 52,  5'7", weigh about 220lbs and would say I am a novice rider.  The DRZ250 seat height fits me perfect.  Any suggestions are appreciated even if they are "are you crazy, just trail ride".  

My next question is how does someone get started racing?  
And just to complicate matters I have really been interested in vintage racing.  Love the old bikes.

Thanx

Edited by mbris

Well.... I was sort of in the same boat as you.  34.  Never really had a dirt bike.  Bought one.  Rode a year and decided to go go harescramble racing.  I would suggest signing up for a class that fits your age and your desire.  Are you chasing a points of just want to ride with 200 of your new friends and have some fun.  As far as bike choice... ride what you have.  You know it and its limits.  After some races or a season you will have a better idea of what fits your needs and terrain.  PS.. I am now addicted to racing.  I raced more this year than I trail rode.... so keep that in mind

I started on a 2000 KTM 300 and moved to a 2010 KTM 150.  Now I am on a Beta 250rr.  Next bike will probably be a small bore Sherco 4 stroke.  That is all personal though. 

Thanx tripped38.