Pilot or Needle adjustment

Hey ThumperTalk

I recently had my bike rebuilt and ported with the squish band height optimized. At break in, I checked after 30 minutes of riding slowly and the plug was a beautiful tan color, right in range. Later I started riding more aggressively and checked another new plug and it was more black with almost no tan. Would riding slower at barely any throttle be the pilot jet making it tab, and then riding harder at half throttle to 3/4 throttle be a needle adjustment. The atmospheric temperature did go up 10-15 degrees but I don’t think that’s it. Should I raise the clip or lower it? I still feel the lowend isn’t quite as crisp as it should be. Any advice is appreciated.

0 throttle is the pilot, once the start to open it the needle comes into play. 10-15 degrees warmer would make it run richer, depends on the bike how much. Ive seen a few bikes blow up at the track when the temp dropped drastically, leaned them way out. It was kind of sad because it was a kids race.
If you want to lean it out raise the clip on the needle which lowers it farther into the emulsion tube.

• Like 1

Crisp lower throttle is a combo of pilot jet and air screw, try adjusting the air screw, warm it up , ride slowly in 1st and crack it wide open fast, tune out the response, repeat.. The needle does come in to play at about 1/3 throttle, but 30 years of tuning my own carbs tells me go for the airscrew first.

I do not pay attention to my plug color, but the performance throughout the powerband. 

• Like 1

Thanks guys. I’ll try this out Friday when I go ride

On 10/25/2018 at 2:50 AM, MXR said:

Hey ThumperTalk